Make it Sunday, Wear it Monday

This striped, double-knit fabric has been in my stash for about 6 months.  I found it at Value Village for a few dollars and I think there’s about 4 or 5 yards of it.  I love it!

Saturday was the Quilt, Craft, Sew Festival in Puyallup and I came home with a nice collection of discounted fabric remnants and a lot of renewed sewing fervor!  Something I’ve been lacking lately.  So on Sunday, I pulled all my patterns out of the moving box they’ve been in and spread them across the living room floor.  From there I looked over each one and through process of elimination decided on something simple.  I knew I wanted to use this double-knit, which helped limit the choice to a few patterns, and I finally decided on McCalls M4600 (View A, top right pic):

Simple long-sleeved top.  What I really like about this pattern was that the top and the dress are the same pattern piece, so it was really easy to choose the length of the top that I wanted.  I’ve noticed in past tops that I’ve made, they always end up a little too short than I like.

The only thing I didn’t like about this pattern was that it had a zipper in the back.  I do not get that at all.  I cut the back piece on the fold.  However, I totally forgot to take out the allowance for the zipper, so the back is a little roomy.  I cut a size medium which is 12-14 size and didn’t make any alterations besides omitting the zipper.

One thing I notice are the shoulders.  They are a little farther out than they should be, but fortunately not so much that it looks funny.  I think I can live with that ;)  The shoulder seams and the sleeves are French seams using a stretch stitch.  I set the sleeves before I hemmed the sides and it went much easier than I expected.  I tried my best to line up the stripes, but as you can see didn’t quite make it :)  I don’t have a double needle, so I went around the cuffs and the hem twice.  The neckline I rolled under twice and sewed a straight stitch.

Overall, I really love this top!  It is so comfortable.  I really needed more long-sleeved tops like this in my wardrobe and it’s been a great addition so far.  I’m definitely making this one again!

One Comment to “Make it Sunday, Wear it Monday”

  1. Really, really nice, Erin. I like the fabric. Lining up stripes is very difficult, but you did a good job. Grandma would be so proud!!

Leave a Reply

