BurdaStyle Top Picks :: Sept-Oct 2010

A few months ago, the husband and I moved into a one bedroom apartment and I lost my sewing room.  Insert sad face here.  Though it was actually a great motivation for me to slim down my fabric and pattern stash tremendously.  I got rid of a lot and now have everything stacked on one shelf in the linen closet and along the wall of the dining area in the apartment.

All of this to say…. I have not been doing much sewing.  I thought being in a new place might inspire some creativity and motivation, but the moving and unpacking and then getting used to a new city and creating new routines takes over and there’s very little energy left to do much else!  We have pretty much become comfortable where we live now and I’m just beginning to get the bug back :)  I’m starting off small with a bag to cart my knitting around in.  Just need to come up with a practical pattern (Anyone have any suggestions?)…

Still, the urge to soak up inspiration doesn’t die!  Thus some BurdaStyle Top Picks for you…

***

BurdaStyle Top Picks are garments that I particularly like and would love to wear myself. I usually just “favorite” them on BurdaStyle, but I’ve decided to make it a regular thing to feature them on my blog so I could share the inspiration and applaud the talent of the people who made them!

***

 The “!” Dress
by stitchywitchy (blog post)

After seeing this dress, I have officially decided that I need a long-sleeved knit dress in my wardrobe.  This pattern is eerily similar to a dress on ModCloth that I’ve had on my list to recreate, too.

***

Jacket Vaduz
by Apfelbluete

This jacket is so unusual and so striking!  I don’t know if I’d choose this for myself, but I still love it!

***

 Vintage Butterick 4068
by Brumby Ramsay (blog post)

Beautiful and flattering dress and that print really makes it.

***

 

 Barrathea Talea
by junespoon

This Talea coat is a free BurdaStyle pattern and many a time have I been tempted to print it off and make it up.  I really like this version of it!  My favorite bits are the inseam pockets and all the lovely seaming.

***

bisaga – a bag for picking olives
by kajakaja

So. Dang. Clever.  Click on it for more pics!

3 Comments to “BurdaStyle Top Picks :: Sept-Oct 2010”

  1. I mean, Love the ! dress. (:

  2. Thanks for the shout out, very sweet of you!

  3. thankyou! i am quite flattered to be featured somewhere =) it has been trough it’s first olive picking episode, and it needs some adjustments (or so the guy i made it for said) but all in all he loved it.

Leave a Reply

