One Day Dress

I might be on a roll – I just made another dress!  Except that instead of an entire month, this one only took me 7 hours!

The is the first time I’ve ever worked with knit and I was surprised at how easy it was.  I have heard mixed reviews about the material and I’ve noticed that most people either hate it or love it.  I think I kind of love it.  You don’t have to be precise when it comes to fit because the stretch is so forgiving.

The dress started on a whim.  I was going through my patterns with the intention of reorganizing them and I came across Simplicity 2998.  Then I remembered that turquoise double knit sitting in my stash that I’ve had for so long I can’t remember where I got it and decided to just go for it.

I started at 4pm Friday afternoon and finished around 11pm.  I used my walking foot to eliminate any unwanted stretch while sewing and because I didn’t have any thread that matched the blue I used a contrasting dark grey that actually blends in very nicely!

Before I started I had read online that the dress pattern was very short, so I added about 8″ when cutting out the pieces, but I actually ended up cutting off 6″ of that.  Not sure what happened with my measuring there, but it turned out good because I had cut the neck and armhole trims across grain instead of with grain so they weren’t stretching far enough.  I was able to use what I lopped off the skirt to make new pieces for the neck and arms.  That resulted in two seams showing in the neck binding, but it doesn’t look too bad.

I was going to make the dress with pockets, but yet again made the whole dress and forgot to add them!  Sigh… so I ripped out the seams just where I wanted the pocket, slipped the pocket through the holes, and sewed up the seams again.  Love it!  I put the dress on and showed Jeremiah with just the one pocket in so far and asked him if I should put in the second pocket on the other side.  Surprisingly, he said no!  He liked the one pocket and said it made it look unique.

What do you think?  Do you like the one pocket?  Or should I put in the other one, too?  I’m on the fence.  I’m going to wear it a while and see what I like.

Also, I think the dress is a little plain.  It’s a beautiful color, but I feel it needs a little contrast.  Like a bit of white somewhere maybe… What do you think?

This dress is so incredibly comfortable!  And I love the color.  The prefect summer dress to just slip on and go!

One Comment to “One Day Dress”

  1. muy boito, nice color

Leave a Reply

