Homemade Yum

The past few weeks I’ve been doing my best to start eating healthier and smaller portions to help lose some of my marriage weight (aka the 30 pounds I’ve gained since meeting my husband). I’ve been eating more protein and cut out sugar, milk, and gluten and I’ve been feeling fantastic!  I hadn’t realized that what I had been eating before had been affecting my health so much.  The 10 pounds lost hasn’t been too bad either ;) 

Anyways, because I’ve been avoiding some of my favorite foods (ice cream, pasta, bread… sigh…), foodie blogs have a whole new appeal to me. Everything looks so good!  The recipes below have especially stood out to me and while a couple of them I can’t have right now, that shouldn’t stop me from sharing the goodness with you:

Dandelion Jelly
via Yummy Supper

This is so tempting!  If I can find enough dandelions, maybe I’ll make a batch to give out this summer (and secretly sneak one for myself…).

*** 

Making Genmaicha
via a hippie with a minivan

Now this I might make just to try it!  It sounds very intriguing.

***

homemade pop tarts
via smitten kitchen

Umm, need I explain?  One word goes especially well with this one: Nutella.

***

WTF is Paneer (and How Do I Make It?)
via No More Microwaves

Now this, I have to try.  I’ve had paneer before, but I never really knew what it was.  Now that I know it’s high in protein and actually incredibly simple to make, it’s on my list!

3 Comments to “Homemade Yum”

  1. I know what you mean about the marriage weight! blah. I could never give up gluten. ever. You are brave. I’m just trying to eat fresher foods, and sticking to the rule that any junk food I eat I have to make it myself (haven’t been perfect but I’m getting better!) Those pop tarts looked amazing, I am really tempted to make them.

  2. Oh, that Genmaicha sounds interesting! Mmmm….

  3. I loved reading through this blog. I’m not going to make any of the stuff, of course, but if you do and want to bring some over for sampling, I wouldn’t turn it down.

Leave a Reply

