Napkins+Tablecloth

Our kitchen table is constantly being used.  I used to have a gray, linen Ikea curtain panel over it acting as a tablecloth, but it got dirty so fast and always has heavy stuff put on it that laundering it was becoming more of a chore than I like.  And it was always lopsided.  I hate uneven things!

When we have a real house with a real kitchen table that doesn’t have a rotating selection of electronics piled on it because we have nowhere else to put the damn things, I want to make this:

A simple, pretty tablecloth!  This one was made from Ikea cloth napkins.  A tablekin, if you will.

(via Design*Sponge)

2 Comments to “Napkins+Tablecloth”

  1. At risk of potentially bursting your bubble, 38 years later, I still get things put on my table I don’t want there – gaskets, greasy car parts, paint brushes – you know, the project kind of things….. So my solution is a beautiful lace tablecloth that always looks elegant and never needs washed (never have :) because I cover it with clear plastic…. Don’t know if you can stand that or not, but it works for us. I just replace the plastic every now and then, (when it gets stained beyond washing or torn… :) and we are all happy. And I don’t come unglued when I find a greasy part on the table…..
    So you could have your pretty table cloth now….. :) maybe?…… :)

    • That is actually a great idea. Normally, I’m not a big fan of plastic covers, but I totally get it now! And whenever we have family over for dinner or whatever, I can just slip off the plastic and a pristine tablecloth is underneath! Of course, I’ll probably have to wash it again after dinner, but at least the table will be totally cleared off so it would be a cinch :) I like your thinking, Aunt Sharon!!

Leave a Reply

