New quilt block!

I am hopeful that this will become a real quilt.  I only have enough white to make one more block like this one and I’m seriously considering hunting down more of it just so this doesn’t go to waste.  And I’m loving finally using up the beautiful pre-cut fabric squares left over from this project that never happened.

This flying geese pattern was challenging at first.  It was my first time paper piecing and I perforated the paper pattern with the sewing machine, then sewed all the pieces together through the paper, then ripped the paper away.  Not really enjoyable.

The next square I used a ruler and my tracing wheel to add the perforations along the lines and sew the fabric on the paper. This was better, but I was still wanting to eliminate the paper preparation.

For the third and fourth squares, I sewed the first two pieces onto the paper and for the rest I folded the paper back and just sewed the fabric parallel to the folds, like in this freezer paper piecing tutorial. So easy! And to make sure it doesn’t shift too much, I pin it as I go.

I like this block pattern! It’s random, but not messy. I considered using a different fabric in the center of the circle, but decided not to get too crazy. Hopefully, I’ll be able to find more of this fun white bubbly fabric :)

 

One Comment to “New quilt block!”

  1. Sounds (and looks) like a lot of work, but it is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

