Sashiko

I pretty much love the look of sashiko.  The simple, geometric, and organic designs create quite a statement.

While I was at the festival, I found this book, Sashiko: Traditional Japanese Hand Stitching.  There were only a few copies left at the booth I was wandering through and the guy working at the register told me that it was now out of print, so I picked up a copy.  I also grabbed a few stencils that I figure could also be used as quilting templates.

I’m making some pillows for Christmas presents and I bought a bunch of poly-fil yesterday so I could start getting those completed.  I made one 14″x14″ last night out of some scrap woven cotton and the dark blue color inspired me to try doing a little sashiko using one of my templates.  I really like how it came out!  The fabric frays so easily that I took advantage of it by creating raw edges.  I embroidered it using a light gray floss.

They had another book there that was too expensive for me, but not out of print so it’s available online, Japanese Quilt Blocks to Mix & Match: Over 125 Patchwork, Applique, and Sashiko Designs by Susan Briscoe.  If you click the link, it will take you to Amazon where you can flip through the first few pages.  This book is chocked full of patterns and techniques.  If I don’t get this for Christmas, I may order it for myself!

3 Responses to “Sashiko”

  1. This book looks fabulous ! I love sashiko and you did very well with your pillow. I’ll have a look at Amazon for this book, maybe they offer it “second hand” too ? Thanks for the info :)

  2. Erin, your pillow is beautiful. You are so creative! You make me proud.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

