I’ve caught THAT bug…

Guess what I did this weekend…

044

Started a new project!

049

Which involved cutting out 240, 4 1/2 x 4 1/2 inch squares of fabric.

062

Thus beginning my first quilting experience!  I’ve pieced together 3 blocks so far and I’m thoroughly enjoying it.  This one will be a wedding gift and I have about a month to complete it.  I think it will be do-able since I’ve kept it simple and designed a pattern using nine patch blocks.

Going to the fabric store to buy the printed material to go with the solid that I already had was pretty fun! The saleswoman (who also quilts!) helped me figure out how much yardage I needed, but unfortunately the fabric I had picked out was not near enough. So she helped me for probably 20 minutes trying to find something else that would work. We had 4 choices and soon had it narrowed down to the fabric you see above, which also turned out to be on sale for $1.99 a yard as opposed to the $5.99 I had originally found! The style of it is completely different than what I had started out with, but it turns out that when paired with the other colors, it is so perfect: clean, simple, and easily coordinated with other colors.

This whole quilt business is really exciting for me!  The blocks are turning out beautiful!  It will make a really lovely gift, I think.  I will post more pics once the quilt has been completed and gifted.

2 Responses to “I’ve caught THAT bug…”

  1. I’m thrilled you discovered Quilter’s Cache. I’ve had it bookmarked for several years. I’ve used a number of the quilt blocks. It’s my favorite quilting site.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

