Pocket Novice

Worked a few hours on the blue floral dress the other night.  I got all the pieces cut out and the basic bodice sewn together.  I’m still loving this fabric!  It’s so fresh and bright.  I can’t wait to wear it!

0023

This dress calls for in-seam pockets which is a first for me.  I decided not to use the floral for the pockets because the fabric is a little thin and I was afraid the pattern would show through and look tacky and cheap.  So I dug through my fabric stash and found some light blue silky material.  I’m not sure what it is, but it’s matte on one side and shiny on the other and very silk-like.  I held it underneath a layer of the floral and couldn’t see it at all!  Plus because the blue is so slippery it won’t stick to the cotton and bunch or create bulk.

Well, I should have consulted my sewing book prior to putting in the pockets.  My first mistake was to sew the skirt seams together and leave a hole for the pocket.  My second mistake was sewing the pocket pieces together before attaching them to the skirt.  My third mistake was trying to sew everything together anyway and seeing how it worked.  I ended up with this embarrassment:

0084

Not exactly the look I was going for.  I’m going to rip out the stitches and start all over tonight.

Here’s another blue floral dress sewn up by Country Girl Couture that I came across that I LOVE!  It’s using New Look 6799 and I’m half inclined to pick this one up sometime and make it with the fabric I got at the expo.  I have an idea to embellish the top of it by cutting out one or two of the birds and applique them by hand onto the collar. Wouldn’t that add a neat and subtle interest?  Uh oh–I sense another project on the way even before I finished my latest one!  Sigh…

~ Erin

One Comment to “Pocket Novice”

  1. Isn’t it so annoying when things don’t work out quite as planned? I can’t wait to see what it turns into though :)

Leave a Reply

