The Expo: Part 1 – Goodies! (+ today’s outfit)

just a fraction of my $5 goodie bag!

just a fraction of my $5 goodie bag!

Whew! What a busy last couple days. The sewing expo was so much fun! It ended up just being myself and my mom and we had such a blast going up and down the aisles, finding all sorts of nifty goodies and meeting some really cool people.

One booth we came across had one whole side covered with bins filled with notions like snaps, pins, needles, measuring tools, thread wax, seam tape, buckles, and hooks and probably more that I can’t remember.  You could grab a plastic bag, fill it to the top, and you’d get the whole thing for just $5!  I stuffed it full, of course.  I really don’t think I’ll ever use a bust measurement tape more than once, but I had to make sure I got my money’s worth!  I also was able to get some cheapy thimbles for myself that will last until I can afford one of these (great story behind this company – will be telling more in an upcoming post!).

018

I also picked up two fat quarters for $1 each with the intention of making myself a purse using this tutorial.  The flowered material will be the outside and the blue will be the lining.  I also entered a drawing for a real leather purse handle, so here’s hoping I win and I won’t have to make the one in the pattern! :P

So I’ve decided to be more diligent about my No Jeans rule.  I’ve been very lax lately, but going to the expo and being surrounded by so much inspiration has got my gumption up again.  My outfit today:

008

011

The sweater I’ve had for several years, but I washed it and it shrunk so I don’t wear it as much anymore unless I’m layering.  The dress is Ralph Lauren that I got from Value Village about a month ago and this is the first time I’ve worn it out in public (very comfy!).  The shoes are Rialto and I got them at Ross during the same outing.  They are generally what I wear with all my skirts and dresses now.  They are the perfect combination of casual and dressy and are the first nice-looking pair of shoes I own that are heavenly comfortable!  I could wear them all day and not get a single rub or blister.  Love them.  I’ll try to get around to posting a better picture of them than what I have here.

Stay tuned tomorrow for Part 2 of expo fun!  Oh yes, there’s more :)

~ Erin

One Trackback to “The Expo: Part 1 – Goodies! (+ today’s outfit)”

Leave a Reply

