This Month’s Favorite Links

Yes, the month’s links…

In my tag surfing I came across this great quilting option, concentric circles.  I considerd using it for Quilt #5, but I wasn’t sure I had enough time and I didn’t want to quilt over the embroidery, so I opted to go linear.  I still want to try this on a future quilt, though.  (Photo by To Ithaca, but I cropped it to fit here)

***

 

Vintage in Detail: Arrowhead Tacks

Used for reinforcing corners, buttonholes, pleats/vents, and for embellishment. (from BurdaStyle)

***

Yarn bowls!  How clever and cute is that?!  (by Darielle’s Clay Art on Etsy)

***

 

$10 created this simple, modern above-the-bed decoration with branches from the craft store and fence staples. (from Apartment Therapy)

I have the worst time trying to decide what to put above the bed.  I’m always concerned about it falling down on me in the middle of the night, especially if an earthquake hits, so shelves and pictures are out of the question.  A wall of curtains is a pretty option, but they’re big dust catchers.  I’m considering squares of pretty, starched fabric or wallpaper samples and white molding tacked around them to hold them up, or the minimalistic branch approach.

Eventually, I’d love my bedroom to look like a posh hotel room :)

***

I’m leaving for the fabric store in about one hour to go buy sticky foam to make these fantastic DIY shoe insoles. (by Grosgrain)

***

Happy weekend, everybody!

3 Comments to “This Month’s Favorite Links”

  1. Even “posh” hotel rooms have a generic feel to them. The furnishings impress with their “we-got-a-million-of-‘em!” aesthetic. You can do better. You are more creative and original than any posh (or otherwise) hotel. I rather like the branch idea above. I’d probably use pussywillows. (:

    • Maybe posh wasn’t the right word… elegant is what I’m going for. And apparently, you haven’t seen too many pictures of posh hotels lately ;)

  2. Thanks for the link. It took forever – but it was worth it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

